Home Road Racing MRF MMSC FMSCI Indian National Motorcycle Racing Championship 2017 Final Round

MRF MMSC FMSCI Indian National Motorcycle Racing Championship 2017 Final Round

TVS Racing's Jagan Kumar has won the Championship in the Super Sport Indian (165cc) class

Jagan Kumar
Jagan Kumar
Jagan Kumar

Jagan Kumar from TVS Racing has won the fifth and final round of the Championship in the Super Sport Indian (165cc) class of the Indian National Motorcycle Racing Championship 2017 that concluded at the Madras Motorsport Race Track (MMRT), near Chennai. This is Jagan’s sixth National Championship title

Jagan Kumar’s progress through the five rounds of the Championship has been nothing short of outstanding. At one point he had a 33-point deficit to Rajiv Sethu. Jagan soaked up the pressure and went on to win three races to keep his title hopes alive. He won the championship in the end with a 24-point lead.


In the Pro-Stock Class, Aravind Balakrishnan sealed the championship by raking up a total of 138 points over the season. The Honda Ten10 Racing rider was in a comfortable lead, going into the final round of the championship. In the last race on Sunday, he finished eighth, which was enough for him to secure the title. The race was won by his teammate Anish Shetty.

The rains had also wreaked havoc with the race schedules on Sunday and the organisers could only run 4 of the 7 races that were supposed to take place. The other three races that were cancelled, were chosen for cancellation as the championships in those classes were already decided.

In the Girls Stock 165cc Class, championship winner Aishwarya Pissay (Apex Racing) took top honours. Putting up another dominant performance Pissay finished the race about 5 seconds ahead of Ryhana Bee from Speed Up Racing. Shruthi Nagarajan finished third.

The MMSC Yamaha R15 One-make Championship (Novice), Nithish Kumar M from Coimbatore won the 8-lap race while the race in the TVS One-make Championship (Novice) was won by KB Rajkamal from Neyveli.