Home Rally Hero MotoSports Team Rally’s Joaquim Rodrigues wins India Baja 2017

Hero MotoSports Team Rally’s Joaquim Rodrigues wins India Baja 2017

Joaquim Rodrigues
Joaquim Rodrigues

The India Baja 2017 came to an end after the rally covered around 140km of competitive sections held over two stages.  Hero MotoSports Team Rally’s Joaquim Rodrigues used his skills and expertise to win the India Baja 2017 Dakar Challenge Series, here on Jaisamer . While TVS Racing’s Aravind KP second and his teammate Abdul Wahid Tanveer takes third of the top three finishers.

Another international rider Adrien Metge from Sherco TVS Rally Team has dropped out of the rally after suffering a mechanical failure in SS4.

Joaquim Rodrigues said “India is really a nice place to ride. It has a good track and I enjoyed it all the way. I would love to come back and race here again The country has the potential to conduct international rallies. It has got good manufacturers and tracks.”

India BAJA 2017

However, it was good news for home fans as Abdul Wahid Tanveer of Team TVS Racing emerged winner of the Dakar Challenge category. The 26-year-old has thus booked himself a free ticket to next month’s Merzouga Rally in Morocco and prestigious Dakar Rally 2018 Series. Tanveer thus becomes the third Indian after C.S. Santosh and Aravind to qualify for the Dakar Rally.

“I tried my best to seal the overall standings, but I am thrilled to have ended up with a ticket to Morocco,” Tanveer said. “Winning there will be something even more special as it is the next step to the Dakar event,” he added.

Final results

  1. Joaquim Rodriguez (04:45:22)
  2. Aravind K.P. (05:10:46)
  3. Abdul Wahid Tanveer (05:25:44)

Leave a Reply