Home Rally NDTV Car And Bike Motorsport Award 2017 for Aravind KP

NDTV Car And Bike Motorsport Award 2017 for Aravind KP


The NDTV Motorsport Award 2017 went to Aravind Kadiyali Prabhakar, better known as Aravind KP. Aravind will be making India proud next year as he makes his way to the 2017 Rally of Dakar with team Sherco-TVS Racing. And he is the second Indian rider to get there after CS Santosh.

The Bengaluru-based young racer started his career back in 2005 looking to prove himself on the national racing space. Back then he was just 19-years-old and has been proving his capabilities on the bike and track at national and international events ever since. The young rider has since then won 15 National Championships in Dirt track, Rallies and Motocross. His victories further span across Dirt Track racing, Supercross racing, Motocross racing as well as cross country rallies including the Dakshin Dare and even the treacherous Raid de Himalayas. He also won the Sri Lanka Motocross Championship in 2011, becoming the first Indian to win any Motocross event internationally. And it is these achievements that make him a worthy winner of the NDTV Motorsport Award 2017.

It was in 2006 that TVS Racing spotted Aravind during the 2006 Gulf Dirt Track National Championship and he has been a part of TVS Racing ever since. It’s been 10 years now and it was only early this year that TVS Racing announced that Aravind KP will be a part of the TVS-Sherco Rally Factory team at the 2017 Dakar rally. The 31-year-old has become the second Indian rider (after CS Santosh) to make it to the gruelling rally and will be riding with the Sherco-TVS rally team. Aravind has been with the rally format of racing for the past two to three years and it commendable of TVS to back him up for the most gruelling and demanding journey.

Aravind KP Finished at the 26th Position in the 2016 Morocco Rally
Aravind KP Finished at the 26th Position in the 2016 Morocco Rally

Aravind was looking for more challenges and he made his way to the Oilibya Rally of Morocco this year with team Sherco-TVS in the 450cc class. Regarded as a stepping stone to Dakar, Aravind finished the Rally of Morocco in twenty sixth position overall. Aravind will now make his way to the thirty fifth edition of the Dakar Rally in January 2017 and he’ll be negotiating fifteen stages across three countries to complete 9000 kilometres. With preparations in full swing.

source : ndtv.com


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here