Home News Gulf Dirt Track Racing-Bhopal 2011

Gulf Dirt Track Racing-Bhopal 2011

Gulf Dirt Track Racing-Bhopal 2011
Gulf Dirt Track Racing-Bhopal

The country’s leading riders gave Bhopal’s motorsport fans something to shout about as they went through the motions in the third leg of the Gulf Dirt Track Racing and Clash of Titans at the BHEL Dassera Ground over the weekend.

If they got a glimpse of what dirt track racing was all about when the third leg of the event, organized by Sportscraft, was run on Saturday, the Clash of the Titans, which pit only the best riders of the previously held legs in Hyderabad, Nashik and Bhopal, that followed on Sunday was a virtual feast of top class riding.

H K Pradeep and Arvind KP of TVS Racing Team came up with brilliant displays in the Clash of the Titans’ to emerge the undisputed kings of dirt track motorcycle racing in India.

Bangalore riders Pradeep and Arvind showed the class champions are made of to upset the applecart of their TVS Racing teammate C S Santosh, who was favourite going into the Clash of Titans after the brilliant display on Saturday, and take the honours, as the trio proved a distinct class above the field.

Pradeep and Arvind won one race each of the two races in the Indian Expert Class Group A Foreign Motorcycles upto 260 cc, relegating Santosh to third place in one race and Vishal Barguje, another Bangalore rider, to third place in the second race.

Like in the previous rounds, Pradeep and Arvind, astride TVS bikes, were clear winners in the Indian Expert class Group A for foreign motorcycle despite being challenged all the way by Santosh and Barguje.

Much was anticipated from this Clash of the Titans, and none disappointed as they went through the motions on a specially-laid out course at high speeds, their superbly prepared bike raising a dust storm all over.

The course laid out by organizers Sportscraft was really tough. In addition to the sharp bends there was also loose gravel and slushy areas to negotiate, which made riding a dicey proposition, but all riders displayed excellent skills to come through this test of man and machine in flaying colours.

If the above-named champions dazzled, Coimbatore’s R Prakash was not far behind in his riding skills as he took one race in the Private Expert class for foreign motorcycles upto 250cc 2 & 4 stroke and finished second behind Girish KC of Kerala in another. The duo were challenged all the way by Nashik’s Vineet Kurup and Shamim Khan but clever maneuvering around the sharp bends won them the day. Kurup and Khan could only place second and third in one of the two races.

Bhopal’s Mohammad Ali Khan gave the home fans lost to cheer as he beat back a stiff challenge from Santosh Kumar of Coimbatore to win one race in the Novice class for bikes upto 165cc 2-stroke and upto 130cc. Bangalore’s Naresh VS of TVS Racing Team won the other race in the category.

For riders and public which came in large numbers, this Gulf Oil event was certainly one to remember. They had two days of two-class action from the best riders and their bikes. The manner in which it was conducted left no room for complain from any quarter. After all, Sportscraft’s usual competence in running events with clock-like precision made it possible.

Race Results 

3rd Round 

Final Round Clash  of Titans 



  1. Hello sajin
    GRISHIN KC Name in race results page plz find out. in the matter of news article R PRAKASH won PRIVATE EXPERT CLASS, GROUP A – FOREIGN M’CYCLES First and PRIVATE EXPERT CLASS, GROUP B –INDIAN MOTORCYCLES Second so he gets more priority then GRISHIN KC
    Personally I am a keraleate and I proud Grishin won PRIVATE EXPERT CLASS, GROUP B –INDIAN MOTORCYCLES first place


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here